Dark eye shadow musings: Part 1

My best friend Nat is getting married next Saturday and I’m one of her bridesmaids (姐妹; “jie mei”). I am very happy for her and her fiance, Ding Yong, and can’t wait for next week.

The only thing I’m not too keen on is that the festivities start at 6:00 AM. I’ve never been a morning person. During college, many people would avoid talking to me at the breakfast table because they thought I looked mad. Plus, yesterday I broke my specs (which will take at least two weeks to fix) and I can’t hide my major dark eye circles without makeup. So I plan to wear makeup next Saturday. Otherwise the groom and the other wedding guests might think I’m glowering at them on this festive occasion.

Trouble is, I rarely wear makeup. The most I ever do is just swipe on lipstick, which often smears across the rest of my face within 15 minutes. So far I’ve only used the eyeliner pens my friends gave me to draw fake tattoos (it draws more smoothly on my skin than a regular pen) and the mascara to colour in someone’s grey hairs once.


I just tried to line my eyes. I poked my right eye with the eyeliner brush.

I can see the black pigment dissolve into my eye.

I am being poisoned.

Oh god, I feel the darkness rising up. I need help.

Leave a Reply

